Wild Cozy Free
What Authenticity Means To Me, with Alexa Juanita Jordan
What Authenticity Means to Kelsey Abbott
2
0:00
-1:05:01

What Authenticity Means to Kelsey Abbott

How to be all the things, do all the things, and start living the way YOU want to live
2

Have you checked out New Yorker Goes West? I’m writing all about my new chapter in California, as a lifelong New Yorker.

This is not your typical travel blog. Or your typical cross-country adventure.

What does “typical” really even mean?

This is a raw, unflinching, intimate look into what it’s like to leave the life you’ve always known behind and begin a new one, miles away.

Will I share great recommendations for fish tacos? Of course.

Will I tell you about my favorite comfort shows? Absolutely.

Will it all be sunshine and palm trees and smiles and Instagrammable selfies? Nope.

But yeah, there is quite a bit of sunshine. And palm trees. I’m a fan.

”Kelsey Abbott is a Certified Professional Coach, Certified Performance Coach, Human Design Guide, Writer and Instigator of Joy who helps her clients and readers become the wonderful weirdos their souls want them to be. Kelsey loves animals, bright colors, contagious laughter and bounce houses. She races triathlon for Team USA, loves being in nature and is a proud dog mom to Zumi and Tashi.”

On Kelsey’s website, she says, “I’m here to be sparkly AF.

I’m here to tell you that she is 100% doing just that.

Kelsey’s energy is boundless and palpable. She is constantly pursuing more and more alignment in her life. She is also deeply committed to helping others do the same - as you’ll learn doing this incredible conversation.

We bonded over hating our former jobs in cubicles, having windy career/life journeys, diving into life coaching unexpectedly, and so much more.

She’s such an incredibly generous and empowering person, and I loved getting to spend some time in her presence. Incredibly grateful to get to know her, and to now call her a friend.

This conversation genuinely has something for everyone.

If you’re an athlete, a scientist, a life coach, a sports coach, or none of the above.

If you’re a fan of positive psychology, sports psychology, or human design, or if you’ve never heard of other of any of those things.

If you’re curious about how all of these different topics have intertwined in Kelsey’s journey.

If you want to learn about self-sabotage, giving yourself permission, being more authentic, and doing the things that light you up.

If you just want a dose of inspiration, curiosity, and empowerment.

This one is for you.

PS - scroll down to get your free human design chart on Kelsey’s website. As you’ll hear in this conversation - mine was very validating and helped *a lot* of things click for me!

TAKEAWAYS

  • Write for one person, that one reaction, that one email that says ‘because of you, I…” Your story can help someone else create their own.

  • Knowing our Human Design can help us peel back the layers of who we’ve been told to be so that we can start living the way we were meant to. It’s largely about rediscovering who we are.

  • Your Human Design combines astrology, the chakra system, the Kabbalah tree of life, and the I Ching.

  • So much of life is about remembering who you are and coming back to being that person.

  • Happiness is a muscle, and following your curiosity can be a practice.

QUOTES

  • “I get to do it this way? Is that legal?”

  • “You’ve gotta give up the good to go for the great. And also…how good is that thing really? Do you really love it, or is it just convenient?”

  • “Some people know exactly what they want. Some people will never know exactly, so the universe always surprises and delights us.”

  • “I’m really grateful that as a teenager I learned, that just because you’re good at something doesn’t mean you have to do it. What if we all learned that at 16 and not 40?”

  • “My biggest gift is being super intuitive.”

  • “Manifesting Generators are warrior buddhas wise and powerful; we’re the ones who can sit still and move constantly.”

  • “Authenticity means living in alignment with my soul blueprint.”

  • “You have all the answers for you and I have all the answers for me.”

  • “I didn’t try to write the story based on my first 100 meters.”

LINKS

Kelsey’s Website

Get Your Free Human Design Chart

See you next week, when I’ll be sharing my conversation with

- who is one of the mutual Substack friends that brought Kelsey and me together!

Discussion about this podcast

Wild Cozy Free
What Authenticity Means To Me, with Alexa Juanita Jordan
Conversations with people I admire about what authenticity means to them.