Wild Cozy Free
What Authenticity Means To Me, with Alexa Juanita Jordan
What Authenticity Means to Sonia Goldberg Pt.1
5
0:00
-33:09

What Authenticity Means to Sonia Goldberg Pt.1

On Shakespeare, friendship, and learning how to be yourself on stage.
5

Welcome back to the What Authenticity Means to Me series, where I talk to people I admire about what authenticity means to them! (You can also listen anywhere you get your podcasts.)

Wild Cozy Free is a community for like-minded souls committed to being their authentic, vulnerable, messy selves. I post a personal essay or conversation from this ongoing series every week, and publish additional work for paid subscribers.

Check out my reintroduction post from my one year substack anniversary, to learn more about me and the origins of this blog!

In a snapshot, I’m a writer and coach, who has also been an actor, associate producer, fourth-grade teacher, temp receptionist, development associate, and much more.

I help people create lives that feel as good as they look. I’m curious about the business of being human; all of the nuanced details, emotions, and attributes that make up who we are.

I’m currently offering discounted individual sessions to celebrate 100 hours of coaching! I’m close to receiving my ACC credential and it feels so surreal! Check out the details in the post below, along with the link to book a session.

Grab an Individual Session


My bestie of almost a *decade* is on the podcast and I couldn’t be more excited!

Sonia Goldberg (she/they) is a performer, writer, educator, and a proud Chicago native, here to stay. Recent acting credits include American Psycho the Musical (Kokandy Productions), Pippin (Music Theater Works), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Oak Park Festival Theatre), and Princess Winnifred in Once Upon a Mattress at Theo, for which they received a Jeff Award Nomination for Best Performer in a Principal Role. Sonia has also collaborated with Chicago Shakespeare Theater, Chicago Children’s Theatre, Northlight Theatre, First Floor Theater, Montana Shakespeare in the Parks, and many more.

As a writer, her TYA choose-your-own-adventure play Think Fast, Jordan Chase! was developed through Filament Theatre’s SPARK program in 2021, which led to its World Premiere in 2023. Sonia was recently chosen as a finalist for Definition Theatre’s New Play Commission, Amplify (Series 4). 

She works in the education department at Court Theatre, and is a company member with Playmakers Lab.

They’ve studied at Butler University, LAMDA, and The Moscow Art Theatre School. Sonia is represented by Grossman & Jack Talent. www.soniagoldberg.com, IG: @soniagoldberg

You can catch Sonia starring in Into The Woods as The Baker’s Wife - grab your tickets here!

This was so much fun. I learned so much more about Sonia through this conversation - and it’s such a privilege to get to know someone on an even deeper level, after years and years of friendship.

We dive into our friendship origin story, the times she’s made me cry (on stage!), authenticity in the world of performing, being genuinely happy and healthily envious of your friends, and so much more.

I’m particularly glad that we got to talk about the nuance of envy vs. jealousy, as Brené discusses in Atlas of the Heart! Jealousy essentially means, ‘I want what you have and I don’t want you to have it.’ It often comes up in friendships of three or more. Envy means, ‘I want what you have, but I want you to have it too.’ Like when you see a picture of someone on the Amalfi Coast and wish that you too were drinking Aperol Spritz by the water. You’re only jealous of that friend, if you think that you should be in Italy and they shouldn’t.

Oh and by the way, Sonia is the friend I’m always talking about when I talk about why I became a life coach and how my friend’s mom was so pivotal in the beginning of that journey. Sonia is that friend! Linda is her mom! The porch is Sonia’s childhood porch!

Safe to say, my life would be very different without Sonia in it. It brings me so much joy to introduce her to the Wild Cozy Free community. As the critics say…

“My reasons must be clear- if you see this show, you will fall in love with a girl named Sonia!

-Broadway World, On Sonia’s Performance in Once Upon a Mattress (‘22)

If you listen to this podcast, you will also fall in love with a girl named Sonia. And your life will be all the better for it.

Some Quotes

“If you know what you’re talking about, the audience will know what you’re talking about. Trust yourself, and trust them.”

“I’m obsessed with criticism…for the most part, I’ve had educators and tutors who have seen how close I am to something and went ‘Ooh how do I get you there!”

“Whenever I’m up for any part at all, I know that I’m going to be myself. And if they want my interpretation or my essence in that role, they know where to find me! But as they’re surveying their options and picking the colors for the painting they’re going to make, if they don’t pick my beautiful vibrant color, that does not detract from what I’m bringing to the table.

“I’m capable of softness in this body, in this identity, and in this intention.”

Some Links

Sonia's Website

Sonia’s Instagram

Ticket Link for Into the Woods (You might see a familiar face in the audience depending on what performance you go to! It’s me. I’m the familiar face.)

Sonia’s Representation

I’ll leave you with a selfie that Sonia and I took in her parents’ backyard, on the same trip (the same afternoon!) that her mom and I talked about me becoming a life coach. I’ll *definitely* share some more photos from over the years in Part 2.

Part 2 coming soon for paid subscribers of all levels! Consider upgrading your membership below, to gain access to this episode, extended versions of past What Authenticity Means to Me episodes and more.

Wondering why I offer paid subscriptions? Wrote a whole post about that - and interestingly, I think it’s my second most read overall!

Discussion about this podcast

Wild Cozy Free
What Authenticity Means To Me, with Alexa Juanita Jordan
Conversations with people I admire about what authenticity means to them.